X, ES speakers

Read more on the Acoustat X in our home audio section

Mike Smeed2006-09-18 01:19

I recently acquired a pair of Acoustat model X speakers with servo amps. They appear to have been sitting unused for quite some time. One of the amps definitely has damage. I can see burnt marks where one of the resistors was and underneath the circuit board. This one I plan on repairing. The other amp does not show any signs of failure, but I have not applied power to it yet. I would like to check and see if the panels are good and if it is worth repairing the amp. My plan is to use the amp that appears good to check the panels. I am somewhat familiar with tube amps and have an electronic background. Since I have no experience with ES speakers I have a few questions: 1. Can the ES panels be tested before power is applied? 2. Is there a life expectancy on the panel…how long are the panels expected to last? 3. Is the thin wiring to the panel susceptible to shorts? 4. How do you connect to the servo amps? Are they connected to a basic pre-amp out put through the RCA jack? 5. Any precautions before plugging these in?

Advertisement

Andy Szabo2006-11-03 14:19