, Only one speaker working.

Read more on Acoustat in our home audio section

Liam2008-11-13 23:43

Recently I noticed an electrical frying smell (Ozone?_) coming from both of my Spectra 11 speakers are a long spell of playing them at high volume. Both speaker were still playing OK and sounding as brilliant as normal. I turned them off and had a look in side both interfaces. Nothing appears to be burnt off the circuit board, etc. However on turning them back on only one speaker is now operating. No sound is coming out of the flat panel on one speaker (the Bass speaker is still working). Also the 12 v power pack is gets hot on the faulty speaker. I love these speakers and I am keen to repair them. Long in the distant past I studied electronics and now definitely suffer from a little knowledge is dangerous/embarrassing. Can anyone suggest the most likely cause of the problem and a fault analyses procedure?

Advertisement

Liam2008-11-14 00:29

Hmmm...To isolate the problem I swapped over the interfaces...and guess what now both speakers are working and neither power supply is getting hot. I guess that I may have something like an intermittent soldering joint. Anyway I will leave well enough alone for the moment on the theory of if it isn\'t broke don\'t fix it

Andy Szabo2008-11-16 14:57

My guess would be that the plug for your wall transformer was not fully inserted into the jack. This could cause a short circuit, causing the transformer to get hot, and preventing the ESL portion from working. Read my story \"Ted Nugent vs Spectra 1100\" in the 1100 section. Although you have the Spectra 11\'s, they are similar enough when driven a bit too hard!

Liam2008-11-16 20:01